SQA Changes to Assessment of National Courses for Session 2017-2018 Onwards

SQA Changes to assessment of National Courses

In September 2016 the Deputy First Minister announced that units and unit assessments would be removed from National 5 to Advanced Higher courses.

SQA Units will be removed on a phased basis over three years:

  • National 5 from 2017–18
  • Higher from 2018–19
  • Advanced Higher from 2019–20

SQA Revisions to course assessment

Following the removal of units and unit assessments, the SQA are strengthening the course assessments to ensure they assess the full content of the course and to maintain the current course value of 24 SCQF credit points. For each course, the SQA will make one or more of the following changes:

  • Extend or revise the existing question paper
  • Extend or revise the existing coursework
  • Introduce a new question paper
  • Introduce a new item of coursework

The following table gives a high-level overview of the planned changes to assessment in Higher courses from session 2018-19 onwards.

Summary of changes to National 5 courses, implemented in session 2017-18:

Your questions answered

If you have any questions about these changes, you might find the answers in the SQA’s Q&A document.

The SQA are continuing to update this document based on the enquiries they receive.


Hazlehead Academy will follow the advice from the SQA around all assessment procedures.  If you have any specific questions relating to assessment within school please do not hesitate to get in touch with us on (01224) 310184 or via email at HazleheadAcademy@aberdeencity.gov.uk